

from scratch. 7 for 7:30am, Gazebo Hotel, \$10. Contact: Jann Dowsett, ph 07 3365 5353, j.dowsett@library.uq.edu.au. RSVP by 3/12.

• 10/12 Qld Public Libraries section. AGM and end-of-year dinner. AGM at Central City Library Theatrette, 5.30pm; dinner at Picasso's Restaurant, Carlton Crest Hotel, 6pm. Dinner \$20—\$25 2 courses. Contact: Anne Lovell, ph 07 3214 3214, annelovall@slq.qld.gov.au.

SA

- 3/12 SA Special Libraries section. AGM and breakfast. Chesser Cellars, Cesser Street, Adelaide (off Grenfell Street). 7:45 for 8am, \$15 (pay on the day). Buffet style continential breakfast plus bacon and eggs. Contact: Ros Emms, ph 08 8205 0172, rosemms@ozemail.com..au or Claire Aitken, ph 08 8303 8859, clarea@cobweb.com.au.
- 4/12 SA Health Libraries section. AGM. Meetings are held at SAHC at 1pm. To add items to the agenda or for apologies contact: Juliet Marconi, secretary, ph 08 8226 8157, or Anne Fricker, president, ph 08 8222 3224.
- 13–14/3/98 SA Library Technician section. 3rd SA Library Technicians workshop Tools of the trade: skills for library technicians. Chateau Yaldara, Lyndoch, Barossa Valley. \$150 ALIA members, \$170 non-members. Contact: Marion Fielke, ph 08 8374 6258. RSVP by 12/2/98.

TAS

- 9/12 Tas Branch meetings dates. State Library, Morris Miller Room, 91 Murray Street, Hobart, 4.30pm. Contact: Patsy Jones, ph 03 6233 7049, fx 03 6233 7845, Patsy.Jones@central.tased.edu.au.
- 9/12 ALIA Tas Branch and ASLA. Joint christmas dinner. Botanical Gardens Restaurant, 7 for 7:30pm, \$30 per head. Contact: Anita Kaszas, ph 03 6233 7063, Anita.Kaszas@central.tased.edu.au; Bridget Hutton, ph 03 6233 6815, Bridget.Hutton@central.tased.edu.au or Sharron Hewer, ph 03 2333 7174, Sharron.Hewer@central.tased.edu.au. RSVP with meal order and payment by 2/12.
- 2/2/98 Tas Branch 1998 Dewey 21 Update. Complete

continued next page..



Braille and Talking Book Library Awards

Robert Dessaix, winner of the Audio Book of the Year with library borrower, Elsie Simper

he 24th Annual Braille and Talking Book Library Awards were presented on 16 October at the Malthouse Theatre Complex in Southbank as part of the Melbourne Writers' Festival.

The Benalla Award for Audio Book of the Year was presented to Robert Dessaix for *Night letters*. The award was presented by Mary Dickenson, TDK awards co-ordinator. In accepting the award Robert Dessaix said he was thrilled to be thought worthy of the award and that receiving it was 'an act of grace rather than deserts'. The book was narrated by the author.

The winner of the Tilly Aston Award for Braille Book of the Year was Adib Khan for his book *Solitude of illusions*. This award was presented by Barbara Blackman, author of the best-selling autobiography *Glass after glass*.

Elizabeth Newbirch, representing the readers' panel who selected this year's winners, presented the Bathurst Award for Narrator of the Year to Bruce Kerr for his reading of *The drowner*, by Robert Drewe.

A special presentation was made to Jeffrey Hodgson who recently narrated his 100th book. Shirley Lamb, who presented the award, echoed the sentiments of all library borrowers when she paid tribute to narrators for the hours of pleasure that their talents provide.

A special feature of the Braille and Talking Book Library Awards is the Readers' Panel who select a winner for each award from the short-listed titles. This year seventy-five borrowers were involved in the selection process. The host for the awards function was councillor Adam Held, mayor of the City of Stonnington.

Call for nominations

TAFE National Section

he TAFE National Section is calling for nominations for the 1998/99 committee. The committee will comprise representatives from each state and will meet regularly by teleconference. Members wishing to nominate from New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland should forward their nomination to the secretary of their state committee. Members

from other states and territories should forward their nominations to Judy Hanlen, secretary, TAFE National Section, ALIA, PO Box 1223, Wollongong NSW 2500. Nomination forms are available from the secretaries of state sections and from Judy Hanlen, telephone 02 4229 0547, or fax 02 4229 0401. Nominations close 31 January 1998.