Promoting writing, research and libarianship

Fellowships, awards and scholarships from the State Library of New South Wales

he State Library of New South Wales administers and participates in a number of awards and fellowships that promote writing, research and librarianship. Some of these are in the form of bequests, while others are in collaboration with other organisations.

Three awards are specifically for those working and studying in the area of librarianship and information science. The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship commemorates the late Jean Arnot MBE FLAA who retired as head cataloguer of the State Library in 1968 after a distinguished career. Miss Arnot was active in women's organisations and a pioneer in the campaign for equal pay. The award is funded by the National Council of Women of NSW Incorporated and the Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women's Associations Inc. The award of \$1000 is made for an outstanding original paper by a female librarian or student of librarianship on any aspect of librarianship.

The Maguire Medal and the Peake Prize are awards funded by LASIE, the professional journal of information science published by the State Library of New South Wales. The awards are awarded in alternate years. The Maguire Medal honours Carmel Maguire, former associate professor of the University of New South Wales School of Information, Library and Archive Studies and a founder and long-term editor of LASIE. The prize of \$1000 in 1998 will be awarded to a student of information science or archives undertaking their first professional qualification at an Australian school of librarianship for an outstanding paper on information technology in theory or practice, in a library or archives environment.

The Peake Prize is named in honour of Dorothy Peake, former librarian of the University of Technology, Sydney, and founding editor of LASIE. The Peake Prize is awarded for an exceptional article on practical applications of information technology in libraries and kindred institutions. The prize aims to encourage librarians and archivists who are new to the profession to share their ideas and observations on the challenges of information technology. The Peake Prize will next be awarded in 1999.

The State Library also jointly funds a scholarship at the University of New South Wales. The State Librarian's Metcalfe Scholarship recognises John Metcalfe's achievements as principal librarian of the Public Library of New South Wales (now the State Library) from 1942 to 1959, and as the first head of the Library School at the University of New South Wales. The scholarship was established to advance the profession of librarianship by providing financial support and public recognition to outstanding postgraduate students.

Further information on these fellowships, awards and scholarships can be obtained from Mrs Jane Deen, State Library of New South Wales, phone (02) 9273 1663, fax (02) 9273 1263, e-mail jdeen@ilanet.slnsw.gov.au.

Australian
Library and
Information
Association

ALIA'S PREMIER AWARDS

Nominations are now being called for the following honorary awards of the Australian Library and Information Association

HCL ANDERSON AWARD

This award commemorates HCL Anderson, who was the principal librarian of the Free Public Library of New South Wales from 1906 and is the highest honour the Association can bestow on a

professional member. The
HCL Anderson Award is conferred
in recognition of outstanding
service to librarianship, the
profession, ALIA, or to the theory
and practice of librarianship.



Previous winners of the award include John Wallace Metcalfe, Harrison Bryan, Warren Horton and Margaret Trask. To be eligible for the award nominees must be Associate members of the Association.



REDMOND BARRY AWARD

The Redmond Barry Award is conferred in recognition of outstanding service to ALIA, to the promotion/ theory/practice of library and information science or an associated field. Nominees must be people who are not eligible to become a professional member; and not employed in the field of library and information science. Prof Donald Lamberton and The Hon EG Whitlam are previous recipients of this award.

ELLINOR ARCHER AWARD

Ellinor Archer was a foundation member of the Australian Institute of Librarians and its first woman president. The Ellinor Archer Award is conferred in recognition of outstanding service to a library and information



service, the promotion/theory/practice of library and information science, or an associated field. Nominees must be, or have been, employed in libraries, but be ineligible for Associate membership. A previous recipient is Ena Noël.

Confidentiality

It is essential that nominees should NOT be aware that they menominated for an award. Nominations are considered by the Honorary Awards Committee and General Council in committee, and details are published only when the nominations are successful. Divisions of ALA an particularly asked not to note nominations in their agenda papers or minutes. Disclosure of such details can prejudice a nomination.

Nomination forms

Nomination forms are available from ALIA National Office, PO Box E441, Kingston ACT 2600 phone 02 6285 1877, fax 02 6282 2249 e-mail awards@alia.org.au URL http://www.alia.org.au/awards.html

Nominations close 1 February 1998