## Contributors

Simon Breheny was educated at the University of Melbourne where he studied law. He is now Director, Legal Rights Project, at the Institute of Public Affairs. In addition to frequent contributions in the media to debate on a wide range of matters of public importance, he has also given evidence to various parliamentary committees of both the Senate and State parliaments.

The Honourable Jerrold Cripps, educated at the King's School, Parramatta and the University of Sydney, was Commissioner of New South Wales Independent Commission Against Corruption from 2004 until 2009, having earlier been a part-time commissioner. In the course of a very distinguished career he held numerous appointments including as a judge of the District Court, Chief Judge of the Land and Environment Court and as a member of the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of New South Wales. He died in 2015.

**Peter Crone**, who has degrees in Economics from the University of Western Australia and the Australian National University, was Head of Secretariat, the National Commission of Audit, 2013-14. Previously Principal Adviser to the Business Council of Australia, he has also been Senior Adviser to the Prime Minister, John Howard, and to Jeff Kennett, Premier of Victoria.

**Senator Bob Day, AO**, Family First Senator for South Australia since July 2014, had three decades experience in the building industry before entering Parliament.

Antony Green, who took a degree in Economics from the University of Sydney, has analysed more than fifty national, State and territory elections in Australia in the past quarter century. He frequently appears on ABC programs.

The Honourable Gary Johns was a member of the House of Representatives from 1987 until 1996. During this period he was a minister in the Keating Government. Educated at Monash University, he subsequently took a doctorate at the University of Queensland. President for many years of the Bennelong Society, his books include *The Missionaries Were Right* (2011) and, as editor, *Right Social Justice – Better Ways to Help the Poor* (2012).

Julian Leeser, Conference Convenor of the Samuel Griffith Society, has degrees in Arts and Law from the University of New South Wales. He was an elected Australians for a Constitutional Monarchy delegate to the 1998 Constitutional Convention and, subsequently, a member of the No Case Committee for the Republic referendum. In addition to a year as Associate to Justice Callinan of the High Court of Australia, he has been adviser to the federal Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, the Honourable Tony Abbott, MP, and the federal Attorney-General, Phillip Ruddock. After several years as Executive Director of the Menzies Research Centre, he has lately been on the staff of the Australian Catholic University. Senator David Leyonhjelm, a member of the Liberal Democratic Party, has been a Senator for New South Wales since July 2014. A veterinarian by profession, he has also worked as an agribusiness consultant.

**Professor David Flint, AM**, Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Technology Sydney, since 1999, has been National Convenor of Australians for a Constitutional Monarchy for nearly 20 years. He has been Chairman of the Australian Press Council and was, for seven years, chairman of the Australian Broadcasting Authority. He is author of many books including *The Cane Toad Republic* (1999) and *The Twilight of the Elites* (2003).

**The Honourable Michael Mischin, MLC**, who has represented the North Metropolitan Region since 2008, has been Attorney General of Western Australia since 2012. He was a Senior State Prosecutor prior to election to the Legislative Council. In addition to several ministerial posts he has also been very active in parliamentary committees.

Sir David Smith, KCVO, AO, was Official Secretary to the Governor-General, 1973-90, and Secretary to the Order of Australia from 1975 until 1990. He previously held various posts in Australian Government including in the Department of the Interior and the Prime Minister's Department. His book, *Head of State*, was published in 2004. He was President of the Samuel Griffith Society from 2006 until 2010.

**Major-General the Honourable Justice Richard Tracey** has been a judge of the Federal Court of Australia since 2006. A graduate of the University of Melbourne, he has been a long-serving officer of the Australian Army Legal Corps and was, from 2007 to 2014, Judge Advocate General in the Australian Defence Force.

**Professor Anne Twomey** is Professor of Constitutional Law, the University of Sydney. She has previously worked for the High Court of Australia, the Parliamentary Research Service, and the Cabinet Office in New South Wales. Her books include *The Constitution of New South Wales* (2004) and *The Chameleon Crown: The Queen and her Australian Governors* (2006).

**Peter Wertheim**, Honorary Secretary of the Executive Council of Australian Jewry, is a Past President of the NSW Board of Deputies. A solicitor by profession, he chaired the NSW Attorney-General's Working Group on Serious Vilification Law Reform, 2005-06, and is a member of the Anti-Discrimination Board of New South Wales.

**Professor George Williams, AO**, Sir Anthony Mason Professor of Law, Scientia Professor and Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow at the University of New South Wales, was Foundation Director of the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law. He was a joint editor of both *Australian Constitutional Law and Theory* (1996) and *The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia.*