AustLII Home | Databases | WorldLII | Search | Feedback

Upholding the Australian Constitution: The Samuel Griffith Society Proceedings

You are here:  AustLII >> Databases >> Upholding the Australian Constitution: The Samuel Griffith Society Proceedings >> 2013 >> [2013] SGSocUphAUCon 15

Database Search | Name Search | Recent Articles | Noteup | LawCite | Author Info | Download | Help

Editors --- "Contributors" [2013] SGSocUphAUCon 15; (2013) 25 Upholding the Australian Constitution 128


Nick Cater, Executive Director of the Menzies Research Centre since 2014, was previously a senior journalist at The Australian for which he now writes a weekly column. Educated at the University of Exeter, he worked in television for several years before joining News Limited after migrating to Australia in 1989. Author of The Lucky Culture and the Rise of the Australian Ruling Class (2013), he edited The Howard Factor (2006) and jointly edited A Better Class of Sunset (2014).

Professor Greg Craven has been Vice-Chancellor of the Australian Catholic University since 2008. Educated at the University of Melbourne, he has held academic posts at the University of Notre-Dame, where he was Foundation Dean and Professor of Law, Curtin University of Technology as well as Melbourne. He was Crown Counsel, Attorney-General’s Department, Victoria, from 1992 to 1995. His books include Secession: the Ultimate States Right (1986) and The Convention Debates: Commentaries, Indices and Guide (1987).

Dr Damien Freeman studied law, philosophy and classical Hebrew and Aramaic at the University of Sydney and Magdalene College, Cambridge. He currently teaches ethics and aesthetics at Pembroke College, Cambridge. His book, Art’s Emotions: Ethics, Expression and Aesthetic Experience (Acumen Publishing), published in 2011, was followed a year later by his biography of Roddy Meagher, Roddy’s Folly: R. P. Meagher QC – Art Lover and Lawyer (Connor Court).

The Honourable Dyson Heydon, AC, QC, was a Justice of the High Court of Australia from 2003 until 2013; he was previously a justice of the New South Wales Court of Appeal from 2000 to 2003. He was educated at the University of Sydney and, as a Rhodes Scholar, at Oxford University. He was subsequently a Tutor and Fellow at Keble College, Oxford, and CUF Lecturer at Oxford, 1969-73. Upon return to Australia in 1973, before practising at the Bar, he held a chair in the Faculty of Law at the University of Sydney until 1981, and was Dean, 1978-79. He has published extensively on legal matters and, since 1990, been General Editor of Halsbury’s Laws Australia. He has been an Honorary Fellow of University College, Oxford, since 2003; and of Keble College since 2006. He has also been an Honorary Bencher of Gray’s Inn since 2005. He was appointed Royal Commissioner into Trade Union Governance and Corruption in 2014.

Keith Kendall joined the Melbourne Bar in 2011. Educated at the University of Sydney, the University of Chicago Law School, Latrobe and Monash universities, he has been practising in taxation law for well over a decade. He established the Taxation Program at the Latrobe University Law School where he is a senior lecturer. He is co-author of International Securities Regulation (Westlaw) and co-editor of the Journal of Australian Taxation.

The Honourable Dr Gary Johns was a member of the House of Representatives for the Queensland seat of Petrie from 1987 to 1996 and a minister in the Keating Government from 1993 until 1996. President of the Bennelong Society for several years, he has also been a Senior Fellow at the Institute of Public Affairs and an Associate Commissioner of the Productivity Commission.

Julian Leeser, head of Government Relations at the Australian Catholic University, was Executive Director, the Menzies Research Centre, from 2006 until 2012. A graduate of the University of New South Wales in Arts and Law, he was an elected delegate for Australians for a Constitutional Monarchy at the 1998 Constitutional Convention and subsequently served as a member of the “No” Case Committee for the republican referendum. He has since been Associate to then High Court Justice Callinan (2000); adviser to the then Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Tony Abbott (2001); and, subsequently, special adviser to the then Attorney-General, Philip Ruddock (2004-06).

Professor Ian McAllister has been a Professor of Politics at the Australian National University since 1997 where he was also Director of the Research School of Social Sciences from 1997 until 2004. He has also held professorial appointments at the Australian Defence Force Academy (1985-96) and the University of Manchester (1996-97). His books include The Australian Political System (jointly, 1998) and Political Behaviour (1992).

Senator Bridget McKenzie, National Party, Victoria, was elected to the Senate in 2010 for a term commencing 1 July 2011. Educated at Deakin University, she was a teacher and university lecturer before entering the Senate.

Malcolm Mackerras, AO, has been Visiting Fellow, Canberra Campus, Australian Catholic University, since 2011. Educated at the University of Sydney, he was senior lecturer, then Associate Professor, in Politics, University of New South Wales at the Australian Defence Force Academy from 1974 to 2005, and subsequently Visiting Fellow. A prolific writer on politics, especially elections, his books include Australian Political Facts (jointly, 1990) and Constitutional Politics: the Republican Referendum and the Future (joint editor, 2002).

J. B. Paul lectured in political science at the University of New South Wales for many years. After graduating from the University of Melbourne, he worked for a decade in the Australian public service, including in the Department of Labour and National Service, the Treasury and the Department of Education and Science.

Senator Dean Smith, a Liberal Senator for Western Australia since 2012, is an honours graduate in Arts from the University of Western Australia. He has held senior executive positions in both the insurance and telecommunications industries as well as having been an adviser to various ministers including Richard Court, the former Premier of Western Australia, John Howard, the former Prime Minister of Australia, and Senator Chris Ellison, former Minister for Justice.

Professor Anne Twomey is Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of Sydney. As well as practising as a solicitor, she has been a senior research officer at the High Court, worked in the Law and Government Group at the Commonwealth Parliamentary Research Service, and been Secretary to the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs. For a time she was Policy Manager, Legal Branch, Cabinet Office, New South Wales. He books include The Constitution of New South Wales (2004) and The Chameleon Crown – The Queen and her Australian Governors (2006).

Gim Del Villar is a barrister in Brisbane. He graduated with degrees in Arts and Laws from the Australian National University. He subsequently worked in the Department of Immigration and the House of Representatives before joining the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS). He took leave from AGS to serve as an associate to the Honourable Ian Callinan of the High Court of Australia and then worked in the Constitutional Policy Unit of the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department. Before being called to the bar, Gim worked as counsel assisting the Commonwealth Solicitor-General. He has appeared in a number of cases as junior counsel in the High Court, including Thomas v Mowbray (2007), Monis v The Queen (2013) and Kuczborski v Queensland (2014), and has co-authored (with Felicity Nagorcka) an article on the exercise of federal jurisdiction by tribunals in the Australian Law Journal.

AustLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback