COMMITTEE NEWS AND UPDATES

Northern Territory Women Lawyers Association (NTWLA)

Rosslyn Chenoweth
President
NTWLA

As the President of the NTWLA, I am delighted that such a varied and accomplished group of lawyers were elected to the 2016 committee. This year the committee has a good mix across government, private practice and academia—with some old members and new members to provide fresh perspectives. The whole committee is looking to 2016 with renewed enthusiasm and commitment.

Personally, my priorities as President for 2016 are to develop and launch our website, consolidate our event program and finalise our mentorship program. I look forward to developing these priorities and identifying some others that the committee can progress.

I would particularly like to thank our past President, Brenda Monaghan, who has certainly left me big shoes to fill! She has done a wonderful job over the past two years keeping us all on track and focussed. Under her leadership the profile and influence of our organisation has greatly increased. I am extremely glad (and relieved) that Brenda has agreed to stay on the committee as a general member. Committee members for 2016 are:

President:

Ros Chenoweth (Office of Parliamentary Counsel)

Vice-President (Darwin) and Australian Women Lawyers' Representative: **Bronwyn Haack** (*Private Bar*)

Vice-President (Alice Springs): **Aimee Winra** (DPP, Alice Springs)

Treasurer and Public Officer:

Frieda Evans (Supreme Court Library)

Secretary:

Adele Bogard

(Department of the Attorney-General and Justice)

Law Society Northern Territory Liaison: Kellie Grainger







General committee members: Brenda Monaghan (Office of the Information Commissioner and Public Interest Disclosure Commissioner), Traci Keys (Anti-Discrimination Commission), Sall Forrest (Northern Territory Legal Aid Commission, Katherine), Ros Vickers (Charles Darwin University), Lhia-Clare Davis (Minter Ellison), Jessica Holgersson (Halfpennys).

Our Christmas drinks in November were a great success and it was good to catch up with the many members of the profession (and their friends and family) who attended. It was a wonderful way for myself and the new committee to come together with colleagues and celebrate 2015 while looking ahead to the challenges of 2016. I would like to thank Josine Wynberg from Minter Ellison who was our guest speaker and who was generous enough to give us a snapshot of some of the work that her firm is doing to support women, and diversity in general, in the profession.

As you would know, the NTWLA is a member of the Australian Women Lawyers (AWL) which is holding its biennial conference this year in Perth over three days from 8–10 April 2016. Information about the conference can be found on the AWL website at www.australianwomenlawyers. com.au. The theme of this year's conference is 'Where do we want to be in 5 years' and will include at least seven hours of CPD in the areas of resilience, practice development, substantive law, current issues in domestic violence and

driving cultural change. It kicks off with a great opening night function on the Judges' Balcony of the Federal Court Building with a welcome by the Hon. Justice Carmel Mc Clure, President of the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of Western Australia. Other speakers/presenters confirmed include Senator the Hon. Michaelia Cash, Minister for Women, Fiona MacLeod SC, President Elect, Law Council of Australia; the Hon. Stephen Smith former Minister for Defence and Foreign Minister; and Chief Justice Chris Kourakis, South Australia. A number of NTWLA members, including myself and the Vice-President, Bronwyn Haack, will be attending and it would be great to have a larger NT contingent, so I urge members of the NT profession to consider attending.

As the NTWLA has done in previous years, the organisation is again offering to sponsor a young lawyer to attend the conference. The sponsorship will cover the registration fee and conference dinner. If you are interested in applying or need further information please email our secretary at ntwomenlawyersassoc@gmail.com. Closing date for applications is 11 March 2016.

I look forward to seeing members of the profession at our events during the year.