20 APRIL 2015

The College of Law announces fellowships

The College of Law today announced that it has established a series of fellowships, in recognition of the contribution being made to legal practice in Australia and New Zealand by the College and its graduates.

There are three categories of College Fellowships – Honorary, Academic and Graduate, the latter being extended to any master graduates of the College in recognition of the high standard achieved in obtaining their qualification.

The College of Law is now in the top seven providers of postgraduate law programs in Australia having doubled enrolments in its master programs over the last five years.

The inaugural Honorary Fellows will receive an honorary master degree from the College at its Autumn Awards Ceremony being held on 4 May in Sydney. At the same time the Academic Fellows and master graduates will receive their fellowship certificates.

The Honorary Fellows have made an outstanding contribution to the College. The College is delighted to welcome them as the founding fellows:

Justice Robert Benjamin (Tas.) Judge, Family Court of Australia; Deputy Chair, The College of Law Academic Board Joseph Catanzariti (NSW) Vice President, Fair Work Commission; Chair of The College of Law Board of Governors

Professor Gino Dal Pont (Tas.) Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania; Member, College of Law External Appeals Panel

Glenn Ferguson (Qld) Managing Director of Ferguson Cannon Lawyers; Governor, The College of Law

Ian Haynes (NZ) Vice-President LAWASIA; Chair, The College of Law New Zealand

Former Justice Keith Mason (NSW) Professional Visiting Fellow, University of NSW Law School; previously Member, The College of Law Course Advisory Committee

Professor Ron McCallum (NSW) Emeritus Professor, University of Sydney Law School; previously Governor, The College of Law

Professor Ken McKinnon (NSW) Emeritus Professor, Charles Darwin University; previously Governor, The College of Law

June McPhie (NSW) Solicitor; previously Governor, The College of Law Professor Gabriel Moens (WA) Professor of Law at Curtin Business School; Director, The College of Law WA

Bill O'Shea (Vic.) General Counsel, Alfred Health; Governor, The College of Law

Laurence Shervington (WA) Director, The College of Law WA

Professor Gillian Triggs (NSW) President, Australian Human Rights Commission; previously Governor, The College of Law

The inaugural Academic Fellows have made an outstanding and sustained contribution as senior academic leaders at the College over many years. They are Bryan Brown, Les Handler, Dr Monica Hayes, Katherine Mulcahy, Kay Smith and Keith Taylor.

Neville Carter, CEO and Principal of the College said: "The establishment of the Fellowships marks a coming of age for the College. It recognises the role the College now plays in the education and training of the legal profession, not just pre-admission but through to specialisation and beyond. The success of our masters programs is testament to this, providing as they do a practical, practice-based alternative to more traditional LLMs."