BATANEE

LAW SOCIETY NORTHERN TERRITORY

Edition: September 2004 Congratulations Stev -legion Ruddogk

As the Council year draws to a close

This is my final column for this Council year, the elections for a new LSNT Council will occur on 13 October 2004 at the AGM.

In this column I want to focus on achievements, in particular the appointment of Stephen Southwood QC as President of the Law Council of Australia.

The Law Council is the peak national body of the legal profession. The Law Council is made up of an executive (President, President-elect, Treasurer and two members) and Directors. The Directors are representatives from law societies in each state and territory along with a representative of the following Bar Associations: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, ACT, Northern Territory and Western Australia.

Steve's path to the Law Council Presidency position arguably began when he became President of the Law Society NT in 1997. Steve was President of the Society until 1999. As President he was also the NT representative on the Law Council of Australia.

At the end of 1999 Steve stood as an Executive member of the Law Council. Steve was the first Northern Territorian to stand for the Executive and was elected in September 1999. Traditionally, members of the Executive move from one of the Executive positions through to President and barring any unusual occurrences, this usually takes five years. At the Law Council meeting which I attended along with Barbara Bradshaw on 18 September 2004 Steve became the first Northern Territory President of the Law Council.

When you consider the information above, it can be seen why Steve's election as President of the Law Council of Australia is, rightly, receiving much acclaim. His Presidency will continue until September 2005 and it is a great achievement by Steve. The local profession can be proud that we have a member as President of the Law Council.

On behalf of the profession and the Law Society Council and Secretariat I congratulate Steve on his Presidency and acknowledge his contribution to both the Society and the legal profession in the Northern Territory.

Barbara Bradshaw and I met with the Attorney General recently and upon advising the Attorney of Steve's appointment the Attorney has kindly offered to hold a function in honour of the first appointment of a Northern Territorian to the presidency of the LCA. We thank the Attorney General for his kind gesture.

Still on acknowledging achievements I would like to congratulate Mr Peter Barr, Ms Suzan Cox and Ms Raelene Webb on their appointment as Queen's Council which was announced on 18 September 2004.

Final word for this Council year

This has been a very satisfying year for me as President. Certainly we have had a lot to deal with in terms of legislation being passed throughout the year, both locally and nationally. We have also had a lot of proposed legislation which is ongoing and will require our further attention, however I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank all of those who supported the Law Society throughout the year, members of Council and also those members of the profession including the NT Bar Association who we have called upon from time to time for their expert assistance. I must say that the Council and the Society are lucky in that we are never refused assistance by those we call upon and it certainly makes life a lot easier for the Council. I would also like to thank the Secretariat, in particular Ms. Barbara Bradshaw. Barbara has proved a considerable asset to the Society and the work that she undertakes on behalf of the Society is immense.



Merran Short, President

As I have said, I found this year most satisfying and in the tradition of previous Presidents I have decided I will stand for a second term.

LAW COUNCIL STRUCTURE LCA Executive

President - Stephen Southwood QC President Elect - John North Treasurer - Tim Bugg Member - Ross Ray QC

Member - John Corcoran

LCA Directors

John McIntyre - Law Society NSW Ian Harrison SC - NSW Bar Association

John Corcoran - Law Institute of Victoria

Mark Dreyfus QC - Victorian Bar Bill Redpath - Law Society ACT Robert Crowe SC - ACT Bar Association

Merran Short - Law Society NT John Reeves QC - NT Bar Association

Glenn Ferguson - Queensland Law Society

Glenn Martin SC - Bar Association of Queensland

Martin Keith - Law Society of South Australia

Phillip Jackson - Law Society of Tasmania

Ian Weldon - Law Society WA Ian Viner AO QC - WA Bar Association

LCA Sections

Business Law Family Law Federal Litigation Legal Practice International Law