nt bar association - jottings on the bar

Bar Council elections

There are some new faces on the Bar Council following the annual general meeting of the Northern Territory Bar Association (NTBA) held in September 2003. Geoff Clift is the new Secretary/Treasurer replacing Ben O'Loughlin. Steve Southwood QC has resigned from the position of Vice President and that position will be filled at the first meeting of the Bar Council to be held in the near future. Michael Grant has not sought re-election to the Bar Council and he has been replaced as the NTBA representative on the Law Society council by Tony Young.

I would like to express my thanks to those retiring members for the time and effort they have devoted to the NTBA. We do not employ staff so the load falls upon those members who volunteer their services. Without them, the NTBA could not operate as effectively as it does.

For the record, the new Bar Council comprises:

President: John Reeves QC Secretary/Treasurer: Geoff Clift

Council members:

Jon Tippett QC - Myilly Point Chambers Peter Barr - William Forster Chambers David Alderman - William Forster Chambers

Raelene Webb - William Forster Chambers

Martin Carter - Edmund Barton Chambers

Pat McIntyre - John Toohey Chambers Jack Karczewski QC - DPP - special members representative.

Tom Pauling QC elected a life member of the NTBA

In recognition of his contribution to the formation and development of an independent Bar in the Northern Territory, Tom Pauling QC was appointed a life member of the NTBA

at the recent annual general meeting.

Tom Pauling first joined the Bar in the Northern Territory a little over 30 years ago, in September 1974. At the time, there were only two other members of the independent Bar: Michael Maurice and Ian Barker. In the late 70s Tom served as an NT Magistrate, returning to the Bar in 1979.

When the NTBA was formed at a meeting held in Darwin on 27 June 1980, Tom Pauling was one of the nine barristers present. At that meeting he was elected the first Secretary of the fledgling Bar Association.

About 18 months later he became the second President of the NTBA, succeeding Michael Maurice. Tom Pauling then served as President for about five and a half years, thereby becoming the NTBA's longest serving President. In the meantime, he was appointed a Queen's Counsel on 22 November 1984. He became the Northern Territory's third Solicitor General on 1 February 1988¹.

Without the significant contribution of people like Tom Pauling QC, the independent Bar and the NTBA would not be the vibrant and effective bodies they are today.



John Reeves QC, President of the NT Bar Association

Congratulations to Steve Southwood QC

The Bar congratulates our erstwhile Vice President, Steve Southwood QC, upon his election as President Elect of the Law Council of Australia. His election means that in September 2004, when Bob Gotterson QC completes his term, Steve will become the President of the LCA.

This is a great achievement for both Steve Southwood and the Northern Territory legal profession. It is a demonstration that even though we are one of the smallest parts of the Australian legal profession, we can still make a significant contribution to the profession at the national level.

(Endnotes)

¹ See Mildren J "A short history of the Bar in the NT" {2001} 21 ABR 81.①

Why not use the Law Society's boardroom for your next meeting?



Hire rate: \$264 for a full day

\$137.50 for a half day (4 hours)

+ \$27.50 for every hour thereafter (all prices include GST)