It's tight at the top

With only four rounds to go, there's still no clear winner.

Competition is fierce at the top of the tables in the LSNT's AFL footy tipping competition. Magistrate Daynor Trigg has made a late charge to take over the lead with 206.

Snapping at his heels are Sally Sievers, Chris Booth and Katrina Bukrikis, all on 204.

Four more (Mark Johnson, Julie McLachlan, Elizabeth Morris and Pipina Papazoglou) have reached the double century and are within striking distance of the top.

As we start the reverse round, and teams play each other for second time, we have had some high scoring rounds and most people have been able to tip at least five winners (out of eight).

After Round 18 the scores are (in alphabetical order): Magistrate Jenny Blokland 156, Lyn Bond (Parliamentary Counsel) 178, Chris Booth 204, Sean Bowden 168, Peter Boyce (Ombudsman) 162, Katrina Budrikis (Dept of Justice) 204, Jodeen Carney (Member for Araluen) 174, Graham Chandler 194, Chris Chaplin (Ward Keller) 184, Michael Davis (De Silva Hebron) 150, Glen Dooley (Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions) 180, Donna Dreier (Dept of Justice) 176, Robert Duguid (student) 180, Lorelei Fong Lim (ABC) 180, Alex Griffith (Clayton Utz) 198, Caron Henebery (Sean Bowden and Associates) 166, Laura Hopkins (NAALAS) 196, Mark Johnson (Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions) 200, Magistrate Vince Luppino 188, B&L Martin (Chief Justice and wife) 168, Julie McLachlan 200, Melart (NTLAC) 194, Glenn Miller (NAALAS) 170, Elizabeth Morris 202, Ian Morris (Hunt and Hunt) 116,

Pipina Papazoglou (De Silva Hebron) 202, Bill Piper (Bill Piper) 158, Karen Randell (Collier and Deane) 148, Justice Trevor Riley 196, Sally Sievers (Cridlands) 204, Magistrate Daynor Trigg 206, Cassandra Tys (Cassandra Tys) 188, Peter Walker (Peter Walker) 188, Sarah Wilkie 158, David Woodroffe (NAALAS) 174.

The winner will walk away with the glory and \$245, second prize is \$70 and third place gets \$35.



Dates to remember...

12-13 August - Futures Expo Careers expo for Darwin senior secondary school students. 5-7pm on 12 August and 9am-3pm on 13 August at Darwin High School. Volunteers wanted.

18 August - Federal unlawful discrimination law CLE

Jonathan Hunyor (Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission). 12-1.30pm in the Law Society Boardroom (NT House, Darwin).

20 August - Sentencing Act CLE John Lowndes SM. 5.30-6.30pm at Cridlands Boardroom (videoconferenced to Katherine and Alice Springs)

29 August - Farewell dinner for Chief Justice Brian Martin MBE AO From 6.30pm at Cornucopia Museum Cafe, Bullocky Point.

3 September - AGM of the Law Society of the Northern Territory

From 4.30pm at the Darwin Central Hotel, cnr Smith and Knuckey streets, Darwin

31 October - Retirement of Chief Justice Brian Martin MBE AO A ceremonial sitting of the Full Court will mark the Chief Justice's retirement, followed by a farewell function. 3pm in Court 1 of the Supreme Court, Darwin.

DEADLINES

Contributions to Balance are welcome.

Copy should be forwarded to the Editor of Balance, Law Society NT, no later than the 5th of each month.

Either fax your contributions to the Law Society: 08 8941 1623 or send them via email: publicrelations@lawsocnt.asn.au.

Advertising rates can be obtained from the Society on tel: 08 8981 5104 or downloaded from our website: www.lawsocnt.asn.au.