# PERSONALIA

# Administrative Appeals Tribunal

#### Appointments

Twenty-nine part-time members were recently appointed to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, following a national advertising campaign, conducted in October 1990, which attracted over 650 expressions of interest for appointment.

The divisions they were assigned to are indicated: General (G), Veterans (V), Taxation (T).

The following people were appointed.

### New South Wales

- Dr John Campbell, the Chief Executive of the Southern Sydney Area Health Service, is qualified in medicine and law and has over twenty years executive experience in the management of civil and military health services. (G, V)
- Professor Gordon Parker is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of New South Wales. (G, V)
- Professor Thomas Reeve CBE is an Emeritus Professor in Surgery at the University of Sydney and also Chairman of the Northern Sydney Area Health Service. (G, V)
- Rear Admiral Anthony Horton AO was until recently Flag Officer Naval Support Command. (V)
- Vice Admiral David Leach AC CBE LVO served for forty three years in the RAN and was Chief of Naval Staff from 1982 to 1985. (V)
- Mr David Coffey is a consulting Geotechnical Engineer with wide experience as an arbitrator and commercial mediator. (G)
- Mr John McAuley is an economic consultant to merchant banks, stockbrokers and investment houses, and was formerly Chief Economist of the State Bank of New South Wales. (G, T)
- Mr Graham Stanford, a Chartered Accountant, retired as a Senior Partner of Peat Marwick Mitchell in 1987. (G)
- Professor Graham Johnston, Professor of Pharmacology and Sub-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Sydney, is the Chairman of the National Committee for

Pharmacology of the Australian Academy of Science and President of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. (G)

- Mr Alan Terrell, Consulting Chief Executive of Australia Asia Airlines, formerly held the position of General Manager Operations of Qantas. (G)
- Ms Geri Ettinger is currently a Board Member of St George Building Society and a Referee on the New South Wales Consumer Claims Tribunals. (G, T)
- Mr James Brassil AM is a consultant to the NSW Department of Corrective Services and a part-time member of the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal. (G)
- Ms Phillipa Smith is a consultant who has been active in the areas of social policy and consumer affairs. (G)

#### Victoria

- Dr Christopher Baker, a medical practitioner specialising in occupational medicine, is currently appointed to the medical panels established under the Victorian Accident Compensation Act. (G, V)
- Miss Elizabeth Shanahan has been practising as a cardiothoracic surgeon since 1967 and has been admitted to practice as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Victoria. (G, V)
- Mr Ian Campbell MC is the Secretary of the National Personnel Committee of Coopers and Lybrand. (V)
- Brigadier Conrad Ermert is the Group Director of Facilities and Supplies for the Alfred group of Hospitals.
- Mr Raymond Gillham, an industrial chemist, is a consultant who specialises in hazardous waste issues. (G)
- Mr David Elsum AM is a merchant banker. (G)
- Mr William McLean is a chartered accountant and business consultant. (G, T)

#### Queensland

- Dr Kevin Kennedy OBE retired as a medical practitioner in 1990. (G, V)
- Professor Barry Smithurst, Associate Professor and Reader in Social and Preventative Medicine at the University of Queensland, is

# Admi

[199

# Revie

[1991]

dmin

eview

a specialist in internal medicine and rehabilitation and occupational medicine. (G, V)

 Dr Edward Christie, Associate Professor of Applied Ecology at the School of Australian Environmental Studies at Griffith University, has recently been Senior Advisor to the Chairman of the Commission of Inquiry into the Conservation, Management and Use of Fraser Island and the Great Sandy Region. (G)

# South Australia

- Professor Ronald Elmslie, Professor of Surgery at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Adelaide, has served as a member of the Norwood City Council. (G, V)
- Dr Jonathan Hancock was formerly Director of the South Australian Region of the Commonwealth Department of Health until 1987 when he retired. (G, V)

# Western Australia

- Professor Richard Joske was Professor of Medicine in the University of Western Australia. (G, V)
- Brigadier Russell Lloyd OBE MC retired from the Australian Regular Army in 1985. He has served as a full-time member of the Veterans' Review Board. (V)
- Associate Professor Stanley Hotop is the Dean of the Faculty of Law and Head of the Department of Law at the University of Western Australia. (G, T)

#### ACT

• Mr Harry Julian DSC is a consulting aeronautical engineer. (G) After the large round of appointments, the Attorney-General has made four further appointments to the AAT.

- The Hon Dr Grimes has been appointed as a full-time senior member in NSW. The Hon Dr Grimes has been Australia's Ambassador to the Netherlands, federal Minister for Social Security and federal Minister for Community Services, and a medical practitioner. (G, V)
- Mr Bruce Barbour has been a full-time member of the AAT in NSW since October 1990. This appointment has made Mr Barbour a full-time senior member.
- Mr Leslie Katz has been appointed as a parttime member in NSW. Mr Katz is a barrister with a substantial practice in administrative law.
- Mr Donald Davies has been appointed as a part-time member in South Australia. He is a retired architect and is currently a part-time Commissioner of the South Australia Planning Appeals Tribunal.

# **Re-appointment**

Mr Charles Garrard Woodard has been reappointed as a part-time member of the Tribunal. Mr Woodard has been a part-time member of the Tribunal since 1986 and has been re-assigned to the General Administrative Division of the Tribunal.

Each of the appointments and re-appointments is for a five year period or until the appointee reaches the age of 70, which ever occurs first.

Admin Review is a quarterly bulletin concerned with informing government, private organisations and individuals about development in federal administrative law and procedure. It is produced under the auspices of the Administrative Review Council but the views expressed in the bulletin are not necessarily the views of the Council or any of its members. Although every care is taken in the preparation of the publication, no liability is accepted in respect of matters published in it. The purpose of the bulletin is to provide general information and not legal advice. Readers should carefully check the detail of legislation, cases and other material included in the bulletin. All inquiries concerning the bulletin, other than subscription inquiries, should be directed to the Editor (address on the front cover). Subscription inquiries should be directed to the Australian Government Publishing Service.