## Small business

## Small business officers appointed

The Commission has appointed six additional small business liaison officers to its small business program, bringing the total to ten full-time officers. All the new officers have private sector experience. They have been appointed to the Commission's State offices.

Through the expansion of the program, the Commission will further strengthen its links with the small business sector to promote knowledge of the Trade Practices Act. The new provisions on unconscionable conduct and the new mandatory Franchising Code of Conduct, which is enforced by the Commission, are the program's immediate focus.

Other priorities include building contacts with industry and professional organisations and greater engagement with ethnic community and business groups to broaden awareness of the Act and its benefits for business.

The new staff can be contacted through the relevant State office.



Back row I to r: Darren McClelland (Melbourne), Aaron Evans (enforcement, Sydney), Konrad Chmielewski (Sydney), Paul Jones (Brisbane), Ziv Gavrilovich (Canberra), Philip Eliason (National Manager, Canberra) Front row I to r: Danny Green (Hobart), Heidee Consuegra (Canberra), Siobhan O'Gara (Perth), Peter Hackworth (Adelaide).

Photography by David Reid