Personalia

by Barry Hunt

Lawyer, n. One skilled in circumvention of the law.
Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary.

ALRC

Mr Alipate Qetaki, First Parliamentary Counsel and Deputy Solicitor-General in Fiji visited the ALRC for a week in April as part of an Australian Government assistance plan. He also visited the NSW Attorney-General's Department and the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel in Canberra. Two part-time research assistants were appointed to the ALRC staff in April to assist the multiculturalism team. They are Andrew Naylor and Meena Sripathy. Both are law students. Mary Fisher and Pauline Kearney were appointed as project managers in May. They will manage project teams and provide high level policy advice. Mary and Pauline were Principal Law Reform Officers on the ALRC staff prior to their appointments. Mary works on Customs and Excise, Pauline on Multiculturalism. Vincent Jewell resigned as a Senior Law Reform Officer in June. Rumour has it that it was his many articles on business law in Reform that brought him to the attention of the Australian Securities Commission. He was appointed to their staff in July. Stephen Mason's executive assistant, Evelyn McWilliams is on a four month

secondment to the Special Broadcasting Service honing her legendary journalistic skills for *Reform*.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

On 27 February 1991 Ms M Lewis was appointed as a full-time senior member for five years and will be based in Parramatta. Ms PA Moore and Mr TW Haines have been appointed as Part-time members of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal for five years and will both be based in Sydney. On 22 March 1991, Ms HE Hallowes was re-appointed as a part-time senior member for five years and will be based in Melbourne.

Administrative Review Council

On 29 January 1991 Mr Stuart Hamilton was re-appointed for a term of three years. Mr Iain Ross and Mr David (Sandy) Hollway were appointed for a term of three years. On 1 April 1991, on his appointment as the new Commonwealth Ombudsman, Mr Alan Cameron became a member of the Council.

NSWLRC

Professor Helen Gamble's term as a part-time Commissioner expired

on 30 June 1991. Professor Gamble was previously a full-time Commissioner (1986-87) and Chairman (1987-89) of the Commission before taking up the position of Foundation Professor of Law at the University of Wollongong in January 1989. Professor Gamble was Commissioner-in-charge of the Community Law Reform Program between 1988—89 and completed reports on Liability of Highway Authorities for Non-Repair, Disposal of Uncollected Goods, Dividing Fences and Recovery of Payments made under Mistake of Law. More recently Professor Gamble has been involved with the following projects: Neighbour and Neighbour, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Torrens Title: Compension for Loss, Registration and Certification of Births and Deaths and Wills for Persons Lacking Will-making Capacity. Mr Hal Sperling's term as part-time Commissioner expired in April 1991. He has been reappointed for a six month term. Mr Sperling has been a part-time Commissioner since 1981. Angela Cranston joined the Commission as a part-time legal consultant in May. Ms Cranston is a graduate in law from the University of Sydney and is currently completing her

history honours degree at the University of New South Wales. Marianne Christmann left the Commission to joint the Ombudsman's office as an Investigation Officer. Ms Christmann worked as a legal officer from April 1990 to April 1991. While at the Commission, she worked on Statutory Wills, Criminal Procedure and Unilateral Severance of Joint Tenancies.

VLCC

The position of Assistant Executive Officer is currently vacant, due to the unexpected death of Andreas van Eerten in March. The position has recently been advertised and will be filled shortly.

VLRC

Ted Wright joined the Commission as full-time Commissioner in March. He had been a valued con-

sultant on the contract law codification project, and brings extensive experience and expertise in corporate and commercial law.

WALRC

Mr R Le Miere has been reappointed to the Commission for a term of 1 year. Dr J Thomson was re-elected Chairman for a period of six months starting on 18 May 1991 and finishing on 17 November 1991. □

The lawyers reform association

The Lawyers Reform Association is a group of lawyers who have the aim of promoting law reform and a more just and equitable legal system.

The Association was formed in 1989 when Justice Michael Kirby, President of the New South Wales Court of Appeal, chaired their inaugural public meeting.

Their objectives include the elimination of unjust discrimination in the provision of legal aid and in the administration of justice, promoting the demystification of the law and access to legal information, agitation for the protection and advancement of human rights, the protection of the environment, and the promotion of informed debate among lawyers and the community generally.

Their members include practising barristers and solicitors, academics, members of the judiciary, law students, and government lawyers. They have a current membership of about 250, which is slowly, but steadily, increasing.

They publish a regular Bulletin, which is circulated to members and other interested persons. The June 1991 issue contains articles about

- their enquiry into the NSW prison system
- sentences for drug traffickers
- barristers and legal aid
- NSW Subordinate Legislation Act
- reviewing government legal services.

Enquiries: David Re (02) 228 7111.