New References

The following new References were received by L.R.C.s since July 1978:

A.L.R.C.: Sentencing. See p. 64.

W.A.L.R.C.: Administrative Law: Supervisory jurisdiction of the Supreme Court over administrative decisions.

Personalia

Mr. Russell Scott

One of the first full-time Commissioners of the A.L.R.C., Mr. Scott's term expired on 1 July 1978. He has now returned to practise as a solicitor in Sydney. Mr. Scott was educated at Sydney University and the London School of Economics. He graduated with honours in law and in addition to being a partner in one of Sydney's leading firms, was a freelance writer and journalist in Australia and the United Kingdom. He wrote the standard text on Prices Justification in Australia in 1975. In the A.L.R.C., he took an active part in many References. He was the Commissioner in charge of the report on Human Tissue Transplants (A.L.R.C. 7). The Attorney-General has approved his appointment as a consultant to the Commission in several projects. The Minister for Business and Consumer Affairs, Mr. Fife, has announced Mr. Scott's appointment as Chairman of a new Committee to monitor the operations of the Trade Practices Act.

Mr. Bruce Debelle and Professor Duncan Chappell

The appointment of two new full-time Commissioners of the A.L.R.C. has been announced by the Attorney-General, Senator Durack. They are Mr. Bruce Debelle, a barrister and solicitor of Adelaide, and Professor Duncan Chappell. Professor Chappell holds a permanent appointment in the University of Washington, U.S.A., and was, at the time of his appointment, Visiting Professor of Legal Studies at La Trobe University, Victoria. A note of the careers of the new Commissioners appears at p. 62.

The Hon. Sir Michael Kerr

The third Chairman of the Law Commission of England and Wales is the Hon. Mr. Justice Kerr, a Judge of the High Court of Justice, Queen's Bench Division, since 1972. After a period with the R.A.F. during the War, he graduated from Cambridge with first class honours in law in 1947 and was called to the Bar by Lincoln's Inn in 1948. In 1961 he took Silk and was a Member of the Bar Council 1968-72 and the Senate 1969-72. Sir Michael is the author of *McNair's Law of the Air* and succeeds the late Sir Samuel Cooke whose death was recorded in the last issue of *Reform*.

The Hon. Sir John Minogue

Following the retirement of Sir Oliver Gillard as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria and as Chairman of the Chief Justice's Law Reform Committee, the Victorian Law Reform Commissioner, Sir John Minogue, has taken over as Chairman of the V.C.J.C. This will ensure a co-ordination of law reform effort in Victoria, under the leadership of Sir John. Born in 1909 and called to the Bar in 1939, Sir John served as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Papua New Guinea from 1962 to 1970, when he became Chief Justice. He held that post until 1974 when he retired. On his return to Victoria he presided over a board of inquiry into motor vehicle accident compensation (1976-77) before being appointed V.L.R.C.

The Hon. Mr. Justice C. L. D. Meares C.M.G.

The public service of the former Chairman of the N.S.W.L.R.C., Mr. Justice Meares, has been recognised by the Queen in her birthday Honours. He becomes a Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George. A Judge of the Supreme Court since 1969, Meares J. has taken a keen interest in the position of disabled and handicapped persons. He was a member of the National Rehabilitation and Compensation Inquiry (1973-74) and since 1975 has been Chairman of the National Advisory Council for the Handicapped. He is also President of the Courts-Martial Appeals Tribunal of the Commonwealth.

Law Officers of the Northern Territory

The constitutional developments of the Northern Territory of Australia since the last issue have seen the appointment of the first Law Officers. The new Chief Minister and Attorney-General is the Hon. Paul Everingham. Originally admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 1966, he first commenced practice in the Northern Territory in that year. He served as Executive Member for Law in the Legislative Assembly in 1974/5 and from October 1977 until his appointment as the Northern Territory's first Attorney-General on 1 July 1978. He is a past president of the Law Society of the Northern Territory. Mr. Ian Barker, Q.C., is the new Solicitor-General. Originally admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales in 1960, he has practised in the Northern Territory since 1961. He took Silk in 1974, was appointed Solicitor for the Northern Territory in January 1978 and became the Territory's first Solicitor-General on 1 July 1978. He has served two terms as President of the Law Society of the Northern Territory. Mr. Graham Nicholson was originally admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in 1967. He was in private practice in Western Australia between 1967-72, was a research officer with the Western Australian L.R.C. between 1972-74 and was successively Principal Project Officer and Principal Legal Officer in the area of Law Reform and Legal Policy in the Territory between 1974-78. He was appointed Deputy Solicitor for the Northern Territory in January 1978 and became the Territory's first Crown Solicitor on 1 July 1978.

P.N.G.L.R.C. Changes

The new Chairman of the Law Reform Commission of Papua New Guinea has been appointed. He is Mr. William Kaputin who until his appointment, was a Principal Legal Officer at the Public Solicitor's